EVS36 — 36th Electric Vehicle Symposium & Exposition

Closing Plenary with E-Visionary and Paper Awards, Announcement of EVS37

Wednesday, June 14, 2023

11:30 am - 1:00 pm

Ballroom A1

Genevieve Cullen
Electric Drive Transportation Association (EDTA)
United States

Genevieve Cullen has led the Electric Drive Transportation Association, the Washington, DC, based cross-industry trade association promoting the electrification of transportation, as President since 2015. She previously served as Vice President, directing the organization’s policy and advocacy efforts. Prior to joining EDTA, Genevieve provided energy policy counsel in the Executive and Legislative Branches, including serving as energy counsel to two U.S. Senators. In these capacities, she developed and promoted policy solutions in diverse issue areas, including climate change and air quality, transportation emissions, energy efficiency and utility regulation. Genevieve Cullen has substantial experience as an advocate for private sector initiatives, with an emphasis on advanced technology solutions to energy and environmental challenges. A graduate of Washington College of Law and Bucknell University, Genevieve is a member of the District of Columbia bar.

Robert Stewart
United States

Chelsea Sexton
U.S. Department of Energy Loan Programs Office
United States

Chelsea Sexton is an electric transportation industry pioneer with decades of unrivaled experience: from deploying the General Motors EV1 to guiding VantagePoint Capital Partners' early investment in Tesla Motors, skillfully directing an automotive XPRIZE, and co-founding Plug In America, the nation's largest consumer advocacy group for electrified transportation. She was featured in the Sony Pictures Classics documentary, Who Killed the Electric Car, and was a consulting producer on the follow-up, Revenge of the Electric Car. Chelsea continues to work toward making the movement of people and goods cleaner, safer, and more accessible through her role with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Loan Programs Office, which finances the manufacturing and deployment of large-scale advanced technology vehicle and innovative energy projects. She tilts at windmills as a lifestyle choice and encourages friendly conspiring for good.

Audun Garberg
City of Oslo, Norway

Audun Garberg is Vice Director and Head of the Climate Department, at Oslo’s Agency for Climate. The Climate Department is, among other things, responsible for developing the professional basis for the city’s climate budget, research and advice on measures, as well as to monitor development and implementation of policies and measures to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and adapt to a changing climate.  Audun joined the Agency in 2017. Among his previous positions, he has been Political Adviser to two Norwegian Ministers of the Environment and Senior Executive Adviser to the Director General of the Norwegian Environment Agency.

Francisco Acuna
Council of Sonora, Mexico

Francisco Acuña Méndez is the President of the Sustainable Development Council, an office created by the Government of the State of Sonora for the development of strategic projects and investments in the region. He served as the Coordinator of Agreement Monitoring in the Security Cabinet of President Andrés Manuel López Obrador and as the Secretary General of the National Intelligence Center. He holds a law degree from the Universidad Iberoamericana and has Master's degrees in Law from Georgetown and in Public Administration from Harvard. He also holds a Doctorate in National Security from the Mexican Institute for Strategic Studies in National Security and Defense.

C.C. Chan
Founder of WEVA and Special Advisor to China Electrotechnical Society

Prof. C. C. Chan SBS holds BSc, MSc, PhD, HonDSc, HonDTech degrees. Honorary Professor and Former Head of Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering at the University of Hong Kong. Founder of International Academicians Science and Technology Innovation Centre. Visiting Professor of MIT, UC Berkeley, University of Cambridge, etc. Founding President of the World Electric Vehicle Association. Senior Consultant to governments, academia and industries. Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering, Fellow of Royal Academy of Engineering, U.K., Fellow of Ukraine Academy of Engineering Sciences, Honorary Fellow of Hungarian Academy of Engineering, Life Fellow of IEEE, Fellow of IET, and Honorary Fellow of HKIE. Recipient of the Royal Academy of Engineering Prince Philip Medal, Chinese Academy of Engineering Guang-Hua Prize, World Federation of Engineering (WFEO) Medal of Engineering Excellence, Silver Bauhinia Star Medal of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government, Gold Medal of Hong Kong Institution of Engineers, IEEE Transportation Technologies Award, “Father of Asian Electric Vehicles” by Magazine Global View. Awarded as the 2022 Touching Chinese Character. His major research field includes the philosophy and key technologies of electric vehicles and intelligent energy systems. He published 17 books, over 450 technical papers and holds 10 patents.